Drue Lane Webster Volunteer Service Award

Since its inception at the Annual Membership meeting in May 1985, 58 Junior League of St. Louis members have been honored as recipients of the Drue Lane Webster Volunteer Service Award. Nominations are due in the spring each year, and winners are announced at that year’s Annual Meeting in May.

The award recognizes JLSL members who exemplify the spirit and purpose of JLSL through a commitment to voluntarism through combined “hands-on” service and leadership roles.

So who’s your Drue?

Any Active or Sustaining member is eligible for this award, which Drue Lane Webster’s family established after her death, in honor of her commitment to life as an active volunteer and leader in the St. Louis area. The honoree each year is given $1000, which is then donated to her favorite St. Louis community nonprofit.

Since 1985, $29,000 has been donated by JLSL on behalf of the Drue Lane Webster Volunteer Service Award recipients.

Forward nominations or questions about the process to druewebster@jlsl.org.

2022:  Sue Felling (A), Kirkwood NOW (Nutrition on the Weekend); Carolyn Farrell (S), St. Louis Public Library Foundation

2021:  No award given

2020: No award given

2019: Maureen Strasheim (A), Haven of Grace; Karen Heath (S), National Alliance on Mental Illness St. Louis (NAMI)

2018: Christine Adams (A), St. Louis Symphony Volunteer Association; Chrisitne Lineback (S), Junior League of St. Louis Glass Slipper Project

2017: Eileen Niesen (A), Books for STL Kids; Heather Chaney (S), Access Academies

2016: No award given

2015: Sally Lefler (S), The Midland Music Institute of The Salvation Army Midland Division

2014: Karen Davis (A), CHADS Coalition

2013: Patty Dolson (A), Covenant House of Missouri; Karen McFarland (S), Nurses for Newborns

2012: Munnie Pacino (S), Caring for Kids

2011: Pamela Krekeler (A), Lift for Life; Frances A. Gay (S), Junior League of St. Louis

2010: Rita Wylie (A), Foster and Adoptive Care Coalition; Jane Towater (S), YWCA of Metro St. Louis-Sexual Assault Center

2009: Elizabeth Goad (A), V.O.I.C.E.S. for Children; Mimi Denes (S), Junior League of St. Louis

2008: Heather Winsby (A), First Book – St. Louis; Diane Kerckhoff (S), St. Joseph Catholic Church

2007: Debbie Davis (A), Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure; Ellen Jones (S), Junior League of St. Louis

2006: Cindy Licavoli (A), Foster and Adoptive Care Coalition; Pat Fogle (S), Life Skills

2005: Elly Painter (A), Lydia’s House; Joanne Arnold Strathearn (S), St. John’s Mercy Foundation (Women’s and Children’s Health Center at St. John’s Mercy Medical Center)

2004: Margie Kransberg Lazarus (A), Friends of St. Louis Children’s Hospital; Jane McElwee (S), Juvenile Diabetes Foundation

2003: Anne Rosenberg (A), St. Louis Children’s Hospital Foundation

2002: Colleen Mehan (A), Belle Center; Patty Alvarez (S), Assistance League of St. Louis (Operation School Bell)

2001: Dena Ladd (A), Citizenss for Missouri’s Children; Marianne Fournie (S), Epworth Children and Family Services

2000: Debbie Genung (A), St. Louis Komen Race for the Cure

1999: Dee Harvill (A), The Salvation Army; Kay Kinsella (S), Villa Marie

1998: Bette Mueller (A), The Salvation Army Hope Center for Children; Maggie Albers (S),  Beyond Housing (formerly Ecumenical Housing Production Co.)

1997: Julie Latz (A), American Red Cross; Anne McAlpin (S), MICDS Leadership Program

1996: Sally Jones (A), American Red Cross; Sam Cocking (S), Cord Blood Bank at Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital

1995: Linda Estell (A), Nursery Foundation of St. Louis; Becky Zaccarello (S), Edgewood Children’s Center

1994: Liz Sprague (A), American Diabetes Association, Missouri Affiliate; Pat McKinnis (S), The Salvation Army Hope Center of Children

1993: Joni Karandjeff (A), Junior League of St. Louis (Capital Campaign); Sharon Olson (S),  St. Louis Children’s Hospital’s Leukemia Research and Bone Marrow Transplant Department

1992: Midge Crider (A), Nursery Foundation of St. Louis; Lynn Hill (S), Beyond Housing (formerly Ecumenical Housing Production Co.)

1991: Hilary Hartung (A), Community in Partnership Family Center; Connie Lohr (S), St. Louis Children’s Hospital

*1990: Patti Mallicote (A), The Children’s Foundation of St. Louis, Inc.; Peg Goddard (S),  Junior League of St. Louis B Landscaping for New Building

1989: Kathi Tacony (A), Southside Day Nursery

1988: Claire Devoto (A), St. Vincent De Paul Society (Milk for the Homeless Children Program)

1987: Sam Gould (A), Life Seekers

1986: Lucie Garnett(A), Opera Theatre of Saint Louis

1985: Ann Babington (A), Saint Augustine’s Senior Citizen Center 

*Sustainer Award Established in 1990

(A) Active     (S) Sustainer